Module 6
Fouls and Misconduct- Handling: Rule #12-2-1
 
A player shall be penalized for DELIBERATELY handling, carrying, striking or propelling the ball with a hand or arm, unless he is a goalkeeper within his own Penalty Area. 
The restart shall be a direct free kick from the point of the infraction.
It is not handling if the ball strikes the hands or arms of a player who is in a (female or male} protective position prior to a kick in a defensive wall or who moves their hands or arms as a reflex to protect any part of their body from a hard shot or pass. Once in position however the hands or arms must remain stationary; moving them to direct the ball would be considered handling.
Deliberate handling to stop an attack would result in a caution for the player. Deliberate handling to prevent the ball going into the goal would result in a disqualification for the player. If despite the handling the ball did go into the net then the player would be cautioned.  

Module 6 Quiz
1. A goal keeper within his own penalty area dives and reaches outside the penalty area to save a shot with his hands. Is that legal? 												YES or NO      											
2. A player uses a chest trap and upper arms to control the ball. Is that legal?				 				YES or NO

3. The ball hits a player’s body and is deflected against the arm of an opposing player who controls it. Is that legal?		 YES or NO 

Module Training:  Please consult your PIAA Soccer Rule Book & PIAA Adoptions for a complete explanation of each rule.

